SHEsteem Award Recipients Announced
Eight Nebraska women will be honored with SHEsteem Awards during this year’s SHE Conference on Thursday, May 1 (SHE stands for "Self-Esteem and Higher Education = Empowerment).

The eight are being recognized as role models for girls like the 175 high school students participating in the SHE conference. Each has demonstrated exceptional accomplishment in her respective professional field. According the Shari Clarke, associate to the president of the University of Nebraska, "the award winners are women whose lives represent accomplishments in both professional pursuits and in higher education."

The 2003 award winners are:

Stephanie Adams, assistant professor of industrial and management systems engineering at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Nancy Belck, chancellor of the University of Nebraska at Omaha

Ann Bledsoe-Downes, president of Little Priest Tribal College

Leola Bullock, Lincoln community activist

Holly Burns, executive director of the Lincoln Hispanic Community Center

Margie Dumas, Red Cross HIV instructor

Renee Massie, consultant in the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services

Renee New Holy, Native American program specialist, Nebraska Department of Education

This year’s SHE conference will be held on Thursday, May 1 at the Nebraska East Union on the east campus of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
University of Nebraska
3835 Holdrege Street, Lincoln, Nebraska 68583 | 402.472.2111 | Comments?
©2017 University of Nebraska Board of Regents