NU Presidential Search Committee Named
The University of Nebraska Board of Regents has named a committee to begin the search for a new university president. The 18-member committee will be asked to conduct a national search and present to the board the names of four to eight finalists for the position, a process that is expected to take several months. The president is the chief executive officer of the four-campus university system and reports directly to the board.

Board of Regents policy requires that the committee have representatives of faculty, students, administrators and the general public, as well as the University of Nebraska Foundation. Committee names were selected from nominations from each of those constituencies. Members of the public were nominated by the individual elected regents. The policy requires that one member of the general public and one member of the Board of Regents serve as co-chairs of the committee. The regent serves in an ex officio, nonvoting capacity.

Selection of committee members was made by secret ballot during the regular October meeting of the Board of Regents earlier today. The search committee members are:

Olamide Alabi, student, University of Nebraska-Lincoln (student)

Kathy Campbell, Executive Vice President, CEDARS Home for Children Foundation, Lincoln (public at large)

Miguel A. Carranza, Associate Professor, Sociology and Ethnic Studies, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln (faculty)

Kenneth H. Cowan, Director, Eppley Cancer Center, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha (administration)

Randy M. Ferlic, Chairman, Board of Regents (non-voting, ex officio member, search committee co-chair)

R. Ellen Davis-Hall, Associate Professor, Physician Assistant Program, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha (faculty)

John C. Goldner, Chairman, Board of Directors, University of Nebraska Foundation, Omaha (foundation)

Marilyn Hadley, Dean of the College of Education, University of Nebraska at Kearney, Kearney (administration)

Hod Kosman, President, Platte Valley State Bank & Trust Company, Scottsbluff (public at large)

William W. Marshall, Chairman, Five Points Bank, Grand Island (public at large)

Kay A. Hodge, Associate Professor of Management and Marketing, University of Nebraska at Kearney, Kearney (faculty)

Maxine Moul, President Emeritus, Nebraska Community Foundation, Lincoln (public at large)
Keith Olsen, President, Nebraska Farm Bureau Federation, Lincoln (public at large, search committee co-chair)

Harvey Perlman, Chancellor, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln (administration)

Burton J. Reed, Dean, College of Public Affairs and Community Services, University of Nebraska at Omaha, Omaha (administration)

Stephen K. Wild, Chairman, Quantum Alliance (QA3), Omaha (public at large)

Ethel H. Williams, Associate Professor, Public Administration, University of Nebraska at Omaha, Omaha (faculty)

Richard Wood, Vice President and General Counsel, University of Nebraska, Lincoln (central administration)

"This committee has an extremely important assignment, and we are confident the members will take this responsibility quite seriously," said Randy Ferlic, Chair of the Board of Regents. "We appreciate very much the willingness of all those who were nominated to serve, and we trust that the committee will conduct a thorough and conscientious search for the best candidates for the position."

Current University of Nebraska President L. Dennis Smith has announced that he will step down effective June 30, 2004.
University of Nebraska
3835 Holdrege Street, Lincoln, Nebraska 68583 | 402.472.2111 | Comments?
©2017 University of Nebraska Board of Regents