UNL’s Taylor wins 2011 IDEA award
Dr. Phyllis Markussen UNL’s Taylor wins 2011 IDEA award

University of Nebraska President James B. Milliken has announced the 2011 winner of the Innovation, Development and Engagement Award (IDEA): Stephen Taylor, professor of food science and technology at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.The IDEA recognizes faculty members who have extended their academic expertise beyond the boundaries of the university in ways that have enriched the broader community.

Stephen Taylor, professor of food science and technology, UNL: In his 35 years of research in food safety and toxicology, Taylor has become an international authority in the areas of sulfite sensitivity and food allergies. He has published more than 250 manuscripts on these topics, and has worked extensively with the food industry, regulatory agencies, clinicians and allergic consumers. Notably, in 1996 Taylor organized a highly successful food industry-funded consortium, the Food Allergy Research and Resource Program, at UNL. FARRP provides confidential food allergen analysis to the food industry and conducts research, outreach and distance education. Originally founded with seven companies, FARRP now includes more than 50 companies; it is North America’s largest food allergy testing laboratory. Under Taylor’s leadership, the consortium has been recognized numerous times for its timely work related to the food allergy field.

          Video Download:

          QuickTime: QuickTime  Windows Media Player:  Windows Media Player

University of Nebraska
3835 Holdrege Street, Lincoln, Nebraska 68583 | 402.472.2111 | Comments?
©2018 University of Nebraska Board of Regents