Testimony to the Appropriations Committee, 2015-17 biennial budget request

Chairman Mello and members of the Appropriations Committee, thank you for the opportunity to be with you this afternoon. I am Dr. Jim Linder (L-I-N-D-E-R), interim president of the University of Nebraska, and I am pleased to join Regent Phares in speaking in support of the university’s budget request. I’d like to spend a few minutes reviewing our request, and then I will answer any questions you may have.

My interactions with the university are diverse and long-term. I graduated from UNMC; subsequently as a faculty member I taught both undergraduate and graduate students, provided clinical service and outreach, did research and served in administration. I’ve also been fortunate to see how our family’s personal philanthropic involvement benefits students and academic programs. This is our university, the university belonging to everyone in this room, and I am proud of what it does for Nebraska.

Regent Phares stated the highest priority of the Board and the University of Nebraska is affordable excellence. Affordable in that we want all qualified Nebraskans to have the opportunity to benefit from higher education. And Excellence in offering programs that will allow our students to become the next generation of leaders in Nebraska. Today I am asking you to support a budget that would allow the university to do three things to advance affordable, excellent education on behalf of the people of Nebraska.